The Integration Foundation has launched a competition to recognise integration projects

Today, on 30 August, the Integration Foundation launched a competition to recognise media and development projects and their leaders in the field of integration in 2018 and 2019. The deadline for the submission of applications is 30 September 2019. The competition is open to legal entities registered in Estonia and private persons who have helped introduce various cultures and implemented projects that support the cooperation of people with different native languages in the last year.

“The goal of issuing the Media and Development Awards is to value the promotion and sustainability of the area of integration in society as a whole and recognise innovative approaches to the inclusion of people of various nationalities and native languages in cooperation activities,” said Kristina Pirgop, Head of National Minority Activities. “In addition to traditional categories, we want to recognise private sector organisations that have implemented initiatives that support integration,” she added.

The fund of the Media and Development Awards in the area of integration is valued at 4000 euros. The awards will be issued in four categories and the initiator of the project declared the best in each category will receive an award of 1000 euros.

Applications for the awards can be submitted in the following categories:

  • promotion to the general public of the cultures of the national minorities living in Estonia;
  • implementation of cooperation projects aimed at people who speak Estonian and people who speak languages other than Estonian;
  • shaping attitudes that support integration through media projects, radio programmes or articles;
  • implementation of initiatives that support integration in the private sector.


Projects that were implemented from 1 October 2018 to 30 September 2019 can be entered in the competition.

In order to enter, fill in the application form on the Integration Foundation website. The application must be marked “Kandideerimine - 2018.-2019. aasta meedia- ja arenduspreemiad” and e-mailed to the Integration Foundation at [email protected] by 30 September 2019. The guide to the competition is available on the website of the Integration Foundation.

The awards will be presented at the ceremony held on 13 December. The names of the award winners will be published on the same day on the website of the Integration Foundation.

The Integration Foundation has issued awards to development projects in the area of integration since 1999 and to media projects since 2009. The Media and Development Awards 2018 and 2019 are financed by the Ministry of Culture.

For further information please contact:

Kristina Pirgop

Integration Foundation

Head of National Minority Activities

Telephone: 659 9024, 5194 1147

E-mail: [email protected]